IOA Winter Webinar Series: Economics of Soil Health Systems with Dr. Elizabeth Rieke


Please join Iowa Organic Association and Dr. Elizabeth Rieke for Economics of Soil Health Systems webinar. Dr. Elizabeth Rieke is a Soil Microbiome Scientist at the Soil Health Institute. Her work primarily focuses on how adoption soil health management practices affect soil microbial structure and function. Additionally, Dr. Rieke is leading the institute’s effort to develop microbially derived indicators of soil health.

Dr. Rieke is a member of the Soil Science Society of America. She received her B.S. in Biological Systems Engineering at Virginia Tech, her M.S. in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering and her Ph.D. in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering from Iowa State.

Soil health is defined as “The continued capacity of soil to function as a vital living ecosystem that sustains plants, animals, and humans.” This abstract definition often leads to the question of “How do we measure soil health and is adoption of soil health management practices economically viable?” This webinar focuses on how to measure soil health, including how to appropriately interpret your soil health indicator data. This event will also cover the economic benefits associated with adopting soil health management practices.

This webinar is sponsored by Audrey Tan Lam with with Center for Energy and Environmental Education with University of Northern Iowa.

There is no cost to attend the event, however, we do ask that you please RSVP below.

January 25, 2022 at 12:00pm - 1pm
Olga Reding · · 515-412-4802
Shani Meintjes Andrew Flinchbaugh Selden Spencer Cynthia McCollough Jack Knight Linda Sturm-Flores Ray Meylor Madsen Organic Seed Robert Ryerson Bob Bollivar Ann Cromwell Cara Case Glenn Wiedenhoeft Gary Wedemeier Mary Cory Tara Daun Robert Dittmer Lisa Bean Fred Kirschenmann Michael Malik Jagjit Singh James Mathis Daniel Kelly Joe Schultes Roger Knutson Robert Anderson Jeff Klinge Mary Denney Julie Falcon Ann Wolf Audrey Tran Lam Grant Breitkreutz Nicole Rakobitsch Tim Gulotta Bill Ferguson Todd Cummings Donald Getting Aaron Johnson Nathan Aabeg Mary Damm Jeff Topel Jeff Pudenz Jeff Hodel Sylvia Walker Shannan Potts Denise O’Brien Tom Lundahl Daniel Hayes

Will you come?