IOA Webinar: The Sustainable Iowa Land Trust with Breanna Horsey

On Wednesday, March 27 at noon CST, IOA will host Breanna Horsey from the Sustainable Iowa Land Trust (SILT) to discuss land access resources for Iowa farmers. Breanna will share the history and purpose of SILT, and their model for addressing land access including conservation easements, land acquisitions, and long-term leases. Register below to learn more!



The Sustainable Iowa Land Trust was founded in 2015 to help protect Iowa's ability to grow healthy food forever. SILT was founded by 25 leaders in sustainable agriculture who wanted to permanently protect the land available to grow food sustainably for generations to come. They focus on goals such as increasing land access for underrepresented farmers, supporting the future of family farms and healthy rural communities, and improving food security across Iowa. SILT also founded the Circle Our Cities Campaign, which aims to circle 10 Iowa cities with 10 permanent, sustainable farms within 10 years. The campaign is currently focused on Dubuque, Des Moines, Fairfield, and Iowa City. Over their first eight years, SILT has already protected over 1,200 acres of farmland for organic and other sustainable practices.


Breanna is the Executive Director at the Sustainable Iowa Land Trust. She holds an Environmental Studies bachelor’s degree and a master’s in organizational development from Buena Vista University and has served Iowa as an Urban Conservationist in Western Iowa and now statewide through her work with the SILT. Raised in the gas fields of Texas and moving to the center of Iowa’s industrial agriculture economy, Breanna Horsey has developed a strong and abiding concern for our planet and our state that drives her desire to become part of the solution in addressing land access and protection.




March 27, 2024 at 12:00pm - 1pm
Kenna Bell · · 3194483081
Elena Ivanov Kristi McCrary Ronald Morgan Elizabeth (Beth) Richards Gordon Garrison Cornelia Flora Joanna Hunter Ted Shambaugh Jeff Topel Denise O’Brien David Christophersen Charlie Johnson Kenna Bell Susana Cabrera-Mariz Bette Vetter Tyler Bruck

Will you come?